CNC Statement: ¡Fidel: His Legacy Lives On! Print

Today, November 25, 2021, marks the 5th anniversary of the physical death of Fidel Castro, the historic leader of the Cuban Revolution. While, in keeping with his wishes, no statues or monuments have been erected nor streets or buildings named in his honour, it is clear that his legacy transcends mere physical trappings.

The most fitting monument to Fidel is the Cuban Revolution, which continues undeterred and undaunted along the path of independence, social justice, human dignity and internationalism forged under his revolutionary leadership. Inspired by Fidel's principled and dignified example, the Cuban people continue to successfully resist the empire and its unrelenting malignant war against the heroic island nation.

As many have pointed out, no words can truly convey the singular meaning of Fidel. His significance extends far beyond the geographical boundaries of Cuba. He is present in every struggle to bring into being a better world.

¡Fidel Presente, Siempre! Fidel Is Ever Present!

On behalf of the Canadian Network on Cuba,

Isaac Saney

CNC Co-Chair & National-spokesperson

Join the CNC for a Webinar: “Commemorating the Life & Legacy of Fidel

An Evening Marking 5 Years Since Comandante Fidel’s Passing”

November 26, 2021

5pm Pacific/8pm Eastern/9pm Atlantic

Register here for the webinar: https://us06web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_jLERNwpkSgWtjyKxBpaDTQ